The business of the College of Paramedics is conducted by our Committees which have members drawn from practitioners across the province. The Paramedics Act and the Regulatory and Administrative Bylaws set out the Committee structure of the College and the composition and key responsibilities of the various committees. The College Council appoints members to College Committees. The Council also appoints each Committee chairperson and establishes a Committee Terms of Reference and budget. 

The Act requires the College to have both Professional Conduct and Disciplinary Committees to ensure the College can conduct due diligence and provide fair hearing to members in the investigation (the Professional Conduct Committee) and response (the Disciplinary Committee) to complaints of professional misconduct. The College will provide training in investigation and Administrative Tribunals for these Committee members.

The Professional Conduct Committee reviews and investigates complaints and makes recommendations to the Disciplinary Committee respecting whether further action should be taken or a hearing held in response to the Complaint. The Committee consists of five members appointed by Council, including one public member. No member of the Council or member of the Disciplinary Committee is eligible to be a member of the Professional Conduct Committee. 

The Discipline Committee conducts hears and determines whether the member is guilty of professional misconduct or professional incompetence and may make an order respecting that finding. The Committee consists of eight members of the College and two Public Appointees from Council. No elected member of Council and no member of the Professional Conduct Committee is eligible to be a member of the Discipline Committee. 

The Administrative Bylaws establish five committees of the College: Executive, Legislation and Bylaws, Education, Audit and Nominations.

The Executive Committee provides oversight and direction of the affairs of the College between Council meetings. The Committee is comprised of three Council members: the President, Vice-President and one Member-at-Large on Council. 

The Legislation and Bylaws Committee identifies options for Council to consider regarding potential changes to legislation affecting College members or revisions to the Paramedics Act and Bylaws. This committee also receives and prepares for the Annual General Meeting any resolutions from the members. The Committee is comprised of five people – three to be drawn from the membership, the President of Council who chairs this committee and a Public Appointee from Council. 

The Education Committee identifies options for Council to consider regarding the qualifications required for licensure of members, the standards for continuing education, matters concerning education of members, licensing examinations and the annual renewal process. The Committee is comprised of ten people –up to eight members to be drawn from the membership, a member at large who chairs this Committee and a Public Representative.

The Audit Committee reviews and approves the financial and risk management information provided to Council, recommends the appointment of an external auditor and receives and acts on the auditors findings. The Committee is comprised of three people – two Council members and one non-member with a financial designation such as a Chartered Accountant or CMA. The Vice-President is the Chair of the Audit Committee.

The Nominations Committee prepares a slate of candidates to fill member positions on Council for consideration at the Annual General Meeting (AGM). The Committee also recruits applicants for Committees for consideration by Council. The Committee is comprised of two members elected at the AGM and two appointed by Council including a member with council experience and a public appointee with previous board or committee experience.

The Paramedic Practice Committee provides advice to stakeholders on how to best optimize patient and family centered care delivered by paramedics within the province of Saskatchewan. The committee is responsible for reviewing scope of practice and protocol proposals, evaluating evidence-based research, and providing the analysis necessary to make recommendations to the Saskatchewan College of Paramedics and the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan.

Terms of Reference (pdf)

Committee Members for 2016-2017

Audit Committee Executive Committee

Chair: Bill Fischer, Vice-President of Council

A.J. Waldal, Member

Betty Hoffart, Public Representative on Council

Chair: Jason Trask, President of Council

Bill Fischer, Vice-President of Council

Betty Hoffart, Public Representative on Council

Discipline Committee Education Committee

Chair: Olumide Adetunji, Public Representative on Council

Chris Warren, Member

Chad McCord, Member

Braden White, Member

Donna Morris, Member

Kathy Christmann, Member

Megan Koskie, Member

Carla Steciuk, Member

Marie Stimson, Member

Tom Janisch, Public Representative on Council

Chair: Bill Fischer, Council Member-at-Large

Darcy McKay, Member

Julie Braaksma, Member

Tim Hillier, Member

Noel Dunn, Member

Jason Hutchinson, Member, Fire Representative

Colin Watt, Member

Brad Mee, Member

Jessica Heathcote, Member

Legislation & Bylaws Committee Nominations Committee

Chair: Jason Trask, President of Council

Terry Hastings, Member

Landon Ulrich, Member

Myron Metanchuk, Member

Olumide Adetunji, Public Representative on Council

Chair: Matt McGurk, Member

Nathan Vircavs, Member

Cheryl Solonenko, Member

vacant: Public Representative

Professional Conduct Committee Paramedic Practice Committee

Chair: Nathan Vircavs, Member, Fire Representative

Duane Fleming, Member

Chris Fay, Member

Ryan Smith, Public Representative


Bill Iwabuchi

Donnita Derbyshire

Jason Trask

Darcy McKay

Mike Hengstler

Tim Hillier

Dr. Brad Jamison

Dr. Kamini Premkumar

Dr. Mark Chapelski

Christina Backlin

Evan Ulmer

Consultation Group:

Kyle Sereda

Noel Dunn

Glen Perchie

William Breen

Len Protz

Michael Brenholen